Shadowy Side and Look Below for the Loose Football

It’s true.  Charlie’s got a shadowy side.

Shadowy Side

But mostly,

Big and Soft

He’s just a big softy.

Charlie is visiting for the week while his mom and dad are on vacation.  This evening, as we trudged through the fresh snow and the cold, cold air, his leash slipped through my double-gloved hand.  I tried to grab the leash, but he was too fast.  I hollered his name, but that didn’t slow him down.  I was so scared he was going to run off and get hit by a car, so I did what had to be done.  I dove for the leash like it was a loose football.  No kidding.  You would’ve done it too.  I leaped and landed on the leash while I grabbed it with my outstretched hands.  Bingo, but my face landed on Charlie’s hip.  He yelped-hollered, and then my next thought was he might bite my face.  He’s not mean at all, but he’s been very anxious since mom and dad left and I’d startled him by landing on his butt.  No probs though.  I reassured him and got up with a secure grip on the leash.

About LBeeeze

Laughing makes life sweeter....especially the stinky hard parts.
This entry was posted in Cute Silly Fun My Photo and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Shadowy Side and Look Below for the Loose Football

  1. Oh jeez. I hope you’re both okay. Yeah, I would have dived for the leash, but out here we have grass and mud to cushion the fall. Ice and frozen ground aren’t so forgiving. Tell Charlie not to listen to the Dark Side and use the Force only for good!

    • LBeeeze says:

      We’re just fine. Thankfully the snow was cushy. I don’t remember having this much snow on the ground (at one time) the whole time we’ve lived here.

      Thanks lots and lots!!!

  2. Jane says:

    Oh that is such a scary moment when that happens. Chicken got away from my husband after my daughter had only had her for about a week and he ran after her for miles. It was only because some girls were out in their front yard and Chicken ran up to them and they grabbed her that he was able to get her back. We think we know now how she might have ended up in the pound. Now when we walk her she has her lead hooked through a collar and two points on a harness. I call it the three points of power. You’d think we were taking a lion for a walk. Glad you got Charlie back. And he looks so innocent.

    • LBeeeze says:

      He’s really a very good dog. He’s just very excited by all the wonderful smells. I read on Wikipedia that Basset hounds are second only to blood hounds for their tracking ability and that it was really important to keep them on a leash because they’re really good at taking off after their sniffers. Keeping the article in mind I didn’t want to take any chances.

      So glad those girls were there to grab Chicken after your husband trailed her for miles. Three points of power….nothin’ but the best for Chicken!!!

      Thanks very much!!!!

  3. ladyapolline says:

    Ahahah ! Sporty nanny dog ! … More fear than harm ! … Charlie had to wonder : ” Hey ! Hell ! … who’s landing ? A paratrooper commando ?”
    Have a nice day.

    • LBeeeze says:

      Hahahahahaahahahahahaha….it was hilarious. I’m kind of glad it was late in the evening and no one was around to see my belly flop.

      Thank you so much!!!!

  4. pyrit says:

    You’re a good doggie aunt to Charlie, LBeeeze. Has your heart stopped racing yet?
    That was a lightning quick reaction on your part. I hope you are OK after falling though. By startling Charlie maybe it taught him to remember he’s connected by a leash. I’m so glad it all turned out OK. It is scary when a dog bolts from you.
    I worked at a animal hospital that also offered boarding. There were no outdoor runs for the dogs, so we walked the dogs twice a day in a huge field beside. We ALWAYS slipped the loop handle of the leash over our wrist and held the leash with our hand. Now I always hold leashes that way automatically.

    • LBeeeze says:

      I’d previously had the lesh over my wrist, but I’m not sure why I’d taken it off. My hands were really cold and my fingers weren’t working so well. All the better reason to exercise precaution. I’m lucky he was only trotting along and also because the snow in that spot was cushy and soft. Phew…..all is well.

      Thank you so much!!!!

  5. Lauri says:

    So glad Charlie didn’t get away and you didn’t break an elbow or get a black eye on Charlie’s hipbone! OW!

    He’s a handsome boy!

    • LBeeeze says:

      Thanks to his holiday hiney, Charlie’s hip was nice and soft. He’s such a big softy….and I agree, very handsome too!!

      Hehehehehehehehehehehehe…..thank you so much!!!!

  6. mkirkd says:

    Wow you were lucky to get the leash!

  7. kimkiminy says:

    What an action shot that must’ve been! You were lucky to catch him.

  8. capnstephel says:

    Aww. Glad you two are ok after that! Whew! *pet pet* for Charlie

  9. littlemiao says:

    whoa, that’s scary! you really acted fast, and saved the day. yay!

    charlie looks huggable.

  10. Aussie Emjay says:

    This is one of the fears I would have about animal-sitting someone else’s precious pet. I fear I would not be quick enough! I’m glad you had all the double gloves and coat for protection – you could’ve had some nasty gravel rash.

  11. Charlie is so cute…I just want to give those ears a (gentle) tug!

  12. geologywoman says:

    Awww….bless. In the city where I used to live there is a small (as in short) dam over the river. There is a walkway over the dam. A man was walking his dog on this walkway and the dog dove into the river on the entry side of the dam, where the water goes under, and then disappeared beneath the dam. The man yanked off his coat and shoes and dove in after. He managed to save the dog and both of them were squirted out on the other side of the dam. You two should meet!

    • LBeeeze says:

      Wow!!!!!! Diving in to the snow after a leash was nothing like that guy did. Wow, wow, wow!!! I can’t believe they both got squirted out on the other side.

      Thanks so much!!!!

  13. akamonsoon says:

    Glad you both were okay! Abby one time got away from me on a walk and ended up leaping over a canal to get to another dog. I gave chase and was not as graceful as her when leaping over the canal. I ended up in the canal. Not fun, but I did get her. Darn dog.

  14. akamonsoon says:

    Actually it was in the middle of the summer here so I remember it being well over 100. The water didn’t feel too bad. I think I was just in shock. LOL. I almost tossed the dog in for good measure. 😉

Leave a Reply

