It’s Not…

It’s  certainly not…

Cherry ??

The cherry on top.

About LBeeeze

Laughing makes life sweeter....especially the stinky hard parts.
This entry was posted in Cute Silly Fun and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to It’s Not…

  1. pyrit says:

    Nooo, don’t do it birdy!

  2. Two words birdy…Hot Wings!

  3. capnstephel says:

    Hehehe, I had a gerbil that ate a spicy cracker once. He was acting interested in them, so we decided to see if he’d eat it. He yanked it out of the fingers offering the food and ate the entire thing with his ears flat back! It was soooo funny! I couldn’t believe he ate it!

    • LBeeeze says:

      Incredible….does it mean anything special that his ears were flat back?? That sounds so funny!!

      Thanks so much!!!

      • capnstephel says:

        It means that the cracker was spicy! Gerbil ears only go back when they get annoyed about something (like you catching them while they’re roaming on the floor. they glare furiously too) or…I guess when they eat something spicy. Hehe! I think he had a long drink after that

  4. akamonsoon says:

    Uh oh! I hope birdy has a big glass of milk handy if he decided to take a nibble! 🙂

  5. kimkiminy says:

    He’s so cute! I love woodpeckers — is that what he is? I’ve heard that birds aren’t affected by capsicum.

    • LBeeeze says:

      I’ve heard the same thing about birds….that you can put hot pepper in the birdseed to keep the squirrels out, but no way did that work for the squirrels around here.

      I love woodpeckers too!!

      Thanks lots and lots!!!

      • jaklumen says:

        Yes indeed! Birds don’t have mucus membranes, but mammals do. I remembered this from a PBS documentary about chiles. They talked to maintainers of a bird sanctuary that was using chile seeds to discourage various rodents. Since the capsicum is concentrated in the seeds and membranes, filtering out just the seeds for use later was the most effective.

        But just as humans learn to have a taste for that heat, I would imagine some squirrels would adapt much the same, too.

    • littleoddme says:

      It looks like a kookaburra to me. They are in the kingfisher family. When I used to live in Australia I’d see them eat some pretty crazy things. 🙂

      kimkiminy is right – the pain receptors on birds are (compared to mammals) pretty immune to capsaicin, the chemical in chilis that makes us feel the burn. The theory is that the plants need birds to eat the chilis still, so the seeds can be spread.

      • LBeeeze says:

        It’s so good to see you again!!! I thought that might be it….that birds have to be able to eat the seeds of spicy plants so they can spread them around. I know the spice doesn’t slow down the squirrels or the deer around here. I tends to attract them instead.

        Thanks lots and lots!!!

  6. Jaypo says:

    Please wipe yer mouf before you have more.

  7. Aussie Emjay says:

    I found one of our hot chillies half eaten and I wondered what sort of (idiot) creature got through half before it felt the heat! There was only that one attacked on the bush though so obviously the word spread….

Leave a Reply

