Oh, Yesssss….

Oh, Yessssss….

I'm feelin' the LOVE !!!

I've been working contract positions for years now.  When you're a contract worker you're essentially disposable, and people sometimes treat you that way.  You often work short term projects, which means another job search just as soon as the project is over (the hours tend to be very long on short term projects, so there's no time or energy to job search while you're in the middle of the project).  

There are pluses…like learning new technologies and processes, meeting new people, and making new friends, but being a contract worker can be very exhausting and disheartening. 

I was going to keep the news kind of on the down low because my heart really goes out to those who are still looking or who have loved ones who are still looking.  I've been that "still looking" person so many times and I know how hard it is. 

After today though, I just can't keep it under wraps.  Today was the first day of my new full time job!!!  It was amazing….really, really amazing!!!  I have never, ever started a job where people have been so overwhelmingly warm and kind.  So many people told me how glad they were that I was there.  They said it like they really meant it too….not just being professional and polite.  This afternoon a guy named Robert dropped by to see if I had everything I needed.  He looked at my chair (it was old, but more than adequate) and said, "You need another chair.  We got to get you another chair," and then he brought me a brand new chair. 

I truly hope this good news stirs hope for those of you who are still looking or know someone who's still looking.  There is hope.  Today I was definitely feelin' the love!!!

BTW….the photo was taken in the Central West End.  How could I possibly pass up a cute monkey, a cute hippo, and oh, Lorrrrrdy, a cute bunny too??!!!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About LBeeeze

Laughing makes life sweeter....especially the stinky hard parts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to Oh, Yesssss….

  1. IG says:

    Aww, LB, this is such wonderful news. Thank you for sharing it with us! Yay!

  2. Snowy says:

    Hey, congratulations, LB! Happy for you.

  3. Laurie says:

    I'm so pleased for you.

  4. I'm so happy for you ^q^ Lots of luck for the new job and just enjoy~!♥♥..and so much *cuteness* in photos ; i see something *pink* beside bunny ~ am curious what is it 😉

  5. Flowergirl says:

    Hugs dear. It's really a wonderful news. I know the pain of this await, since I'm one awaiting too. Congrats and all the best! I wish and pray success in your job and career life +++++ all the positive adjectives.Nice photograph to go with the story. Cheerz & Sparklz

  6. LBeeeze says:

    Awwww..THANK YOU for sharing in my excitement!!!

  7. LBeeeze says:

    Thank you sooooo much!!!

  8. LBeeeze says:

    Thank you sooooo much!!!

  9. LBeeeze says:

    Thank you soooooo much!!!

  10. awww ~ so nice sooo pink ~!! I didn't noticed it was a hippo ( i was actually searching for the hippo) they are sooo cute in there ~ Yeah, u shud get into that store, it looks like they have *yummy* body products :)))

  11. LBeeeze says:

    Thank you so very much!!! I wish great success to you in your own situation and hope the waiting is over very, very soon!!!

  12. LBeeeze says:

    I was afraid I'd be too tempted to by stuff so I didn't go in, but maybe next time!!

  13. I'm sure lots of cuteness displays inside ^q^ and ur welcome~!!

  14. That is wonderful, LBreeze! Congratulations. I am so happy for you. I also enjoyed the picture you took. It is so colorful and fun!! Yah! Something to celebrate.

  15. jaklumen says:

    Yet is it true, as I've heard, that contract workers usually avoid office politics? I guess you can't avoid such entirely if people think "contract" means "disposable", as you say.

  16. Brown Suga' says:

    Congrats! Very happy for you!

  17. jaklumen says:

    Oh, forgot to say congratulations. I seem to remember you've been really anticipating this.

  18. Lauri says:

    This is absolutely great news, LB!!! You SO deserve it!!! Enjoy, enjoy and thanks for the awesome Valentine's pic, too! I'm so happy! 🙂

  19. pyrl says:

    Of course they hired you! You're awesome! Love the chair story. Maybe somebody did that for him once, back when he was new on the job and he is passing along the kindness.Jeepahs, six interviews!

  20. kira :) says:

    Yay!! I am so thrilled you got the job!!! 🙂 Congratulations!!!
    I have been working part-time too, however for me I feel that part-time work gives me the flexibility to attend to my monthly bazaars and have enough time to create handmade items. So I guess it's a case to case basis 🙂
    Good luck!! And I hope you still get to blog often 🙂

  21. Autumnchilde says:

    Congrats, you must be thrilled! I know what its like to do temporary agency work, and its so nice to have a friendly welcome.

  22. mariser says:

    congrats, congrats, congrats![throws confetti all around]

  23. Awww, what nice people! I hope you have a great time at this job! 😀

  24. fatcat says:

    wow, congratulations! Being the one picked after such a big screening truly shows that you are their person for the job 🙂 *joins mariser with the confetti*

  25. D.R. says:

    I am so happy for you. 🙂 Keisha says, "Woof woof!"

  26. TreeSweater says:

    Huzzah and congratulations!
    My sister has been doing contract work for the last couple years, too, and she just started a new contract position this week. The company she's working for, though, is rumored to be good about hiring contract people into full-time positions. So we're crossing our fingers.
    Hope your job turns out to be everything you hope!

  27. LBeeeze says:

    Thank you so much!!! It's a huge relief!!

  28. LBeeeze says:

    Thank you so very much!!! It's such a relief to be employed once again.

  29. LBeeeze says:

    When you're a contract worker you really can't get involved in the office politics. You have to keep your head down and try your best to keep doing your job no matter what, but it offers a lot of great learning experiences.

  30. LBeeeze says:

    I very much agree with you and count myself very, very lucky indeed.

  31. LBeeeze says:

    Thank you sooooooo much!!! I am so, so relieved!!!

  32. LBeeeze says:

    Awwwwww…thank you soooooo much!!! Robert seems like a very happy guy. He said he's been there for 13 years and loves it.

  33. LBeeeze says:

    Thank you very, very much!!!

  34. LBeeeze says:

    Thank you very, very much and it was incredibly awesome to be welcomed so warmly.

  35. LBeeeze says:

    Thank you sooooo very much!!! I love the confetti!!!!

  36. LBeeeze says:

    Thank you so very much!!! It was such a great day.

  37. LBeeeze says:

    Thank you sooooo much!!! Yay…..more confetti!!!

  38. LBeeeze says:

    Thank you very, very much!!! Please tell Keisha I said thank you very much!!!

  39. LBeeeze says:

    Thank you very, very much!!!

  40. Emjay says:

    Great news :-)…. Congratulations!

  41. LBeeeze says:

    Thank you very, very much!!!

  42. LBeeeze says:

    That's exactly what I say!!!

  43. Ivysgrandkid says:

    im soo happy to hear this!! it's amazing working around people who are friendly and welcoming and full time hell yeah!!

  44. LBeeeze says:

    Thank you sooooooo much!!! Today was my third day. Everyone is so friendly. I have never worked anywhere where people are so welcoming. I am amazed everyday. I feel so very lucky and blessed to have gotten a full time job where people appreciate my skills.

  45. Tim says:

    Congratulations! So much love and it was before Valentine's Day. Hope things keep going well for you.

  46. LBeeeze says:

    Thank you so very much!!!! I am so excited to be there. The people are amazing. Even the upper management people are very friendly. I am so grateful to have a job.

  47. silverchimes says:

    This is a little late, but congrats! Such wonderful news! How was your first week on the job?

  48. LBeeeze says:

    Thank you very, very much!!! It was great. I am so very thankful to be there. The people a very friendly. I'm looking forward to digging in. I really enjoy challenging projects.

Leave a Reply

