Climbing Day….

Saturday was climbing day at Giant City State Park, just outside of Carbondale, Illinois.  Here's a shot looking up at a lonesome tree hanging on the very edge about 1/4 mile from where we climbed….

I found this interesting phenomenon along the trail….I didn't know rocks had these….did you ??

And now to the good part….this is my stepdaughter, Jill.  No one should look this good after she's been out in the heat for hours on end.  This was taken near the end of the day….

Here's Alex, Jill's younger brother, getting ready to rapell for the first time.

And here's another Alex…Jill's boyfriend's son.  Look at the concentration !!

And last, but not least…a shot of Sabrina, Alex 2's big sister, rapelling down a 45 foot cliff.  Isn't she one tough chick ??!!  Her instructor is a guy she calls JD…Jill's Dad !!  

So there you go, Climbing Day at Giant City State Park….next time I've got to get a shot of Gabe, Sabrina and Alex's dad….

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About LBeeeze

Laughing makes life sweeter....especially the stinky hard parts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Climbing Day….

  1. That looks like a gorgeous spot, LB. You shoudl add it to Love Where You Live. Jill does look very good for a tired bushwalker!

  2. jaypo says:

    How very beautiful a place–I would have loved that. Thanks for posting pix of your wonderful family, LBz!

  3. none says:

    Looks like fun!

  4. LBeeeze says:

    Thanks so much for visiting !! I've never seen Jill look bad…..evah !! She is as sweet and kind as she is pretty…..I'm a very lucky stepmum !!
    BTW….she's absolutely wonderful with Gabe's kids….so encouraging. The kids had a wonderful day.

  5. LBeeeze says:

    Thanks so much…..and thanks very much for dropping by to meet them !!!

  6. LBeeeze says:

    It was soooooooo hot and humid, but everyone had a great time.
    Thanks very much !!

  7. Waterbaby says:

    looks mighty lush and green!

  8. That looks very fun! Jill is pretty.

  9. LBeeeze says:

    It was very green in that spot…..kind of nice to get away for a bit. The stated parks in Illinois seems to be maintained better than the parks in Missouri.
    Thanks !!!

  10. Waterbaby says:

    hmmm, interesting. wonder why.

  11. LBeeeze says:

    Thanks so much !! So nice to see you !!

  12. LBeeeze says:

    The Missouri governor drastically cut budgets. The Missouri parks are barely staffed and maintained. There was such a visible difference in the Illinois park.

  13. none says:

    That's what matters!

  14. LBeeeze says:

    For sure. Thanks !! : )

  15. Waterbaby says:

    that is so sad. i spent a part of my life in the show-me state, and my father hails from there. happy however for those in illinois.

  16. LBeeeze says:

    The govenor here had grand aspirations and made huge cuts, a lot of them in healthcare for the needy, and public parks, etc. so he could domonstrate fiscal responsibility as he thought he was paving his way to the White House…..but his asministration illegally deleted emails that they were mandated to keep, and one thing led to another….so he's not running for reelection. I think there's some big scandal just under the surface that he gets to avoid by not running again. I don't know all the details because I can't even stand reading about him. He makes my blood boil.

  17. Waterbaby says:

    ah, well then, nice parks, shitty official.

  18. Very Nice! And your step daughter makes me envious as well! I never look that good, even while Fresh let alone hiking on a hot day! Looks like a really gorgeous place!

  19. LBeeeze says:

    There ya go !!!

  20. LBeeeze says:

    Thanks so much !!
    My first opportunity to get action shots !!
    It was pretty but not nearly as pretty as your area. : )
    Jill really is a cutie….and also a very sweet and kind person. I'm so lucky to have her and her brothers in my life (Stu, Jill and Alex's brother, couldn't go with us that day).

  21. Oooh! Ooooh! That looks like lots of fun! Can I come with you next time? Or would you like to come out here to climb some real rocks? ;%2Pr

  22. LBeeeze says:

    For sure you can come !! I'd love to come out there but I'm too scared to climb the really big rocks, but JD would love it !!
    Thanks so much !!

  23. What about rappelling down the really big rocks? Does that sound like fun%3Pr

  24. Emmi says:

    Beautiful kids, and tough! That's neat, I'm looking at studying the Cache River Basin for research, that state looks gorgeous from your photos!!

  25. LBeeeze says:

    Where is the Cache River Basin…and what kind of research do you do ??
    Thanks so much !! All of them, even the big ones are great kids.
    We were just outside of Carbondale, Illinois, which is Southern Illinois. There some forrest there, but where I grew up in Central Illinois it's flat, flat, flat and you can see for miles and miles….not too much in the way of forrest there.
    The boulders and rocks in Giant City State Park were left by the glacier that flatten Central Illinois.
    I can't wait to hear about your research !!
    Thanks again !!

  26. LBeeeze says:

    For sure….that does sound like lots of fun !! Do you climb ? I'm not all that good at it, but I try. : )

  27. Emmi says:

    !! Oh geez sorry, I just saw your question a second ago! I don't get notifications, long story. Anyway I'm not even sure where the Basin is, I'm waiting to hear back from Illinois Fish and Wildlife to see if my research will pan out….I'm studying chimney swifts, and they're losing their chimneys because people are capping them. So I'm trying to see if the swifts will start using old growth forests again, like they did before the pre-colonial settlers deforested (and thus the chimney swifts' shift to using chimneys for habitat).
    I have a post on it somewhere, I'd love to chat with you about Illinois, I know nothing about the culture there except I have a friend who's from Chicago….anyway more later, feel free to message me!!!!

  28. LBeeeze says:

    I lived in Rantoul, near Urbana-Champaign (East-Central Illinois), from 2nd grade through high school. In general, I think the people in Illinois tend to be friendlier than the people in St. Louis, Missouri, where I ended up years ago.
    I never even heard of the Cache River Basin before you mentioned it. I Googled it and found a location in Arkansas and just did some further research. The river is in the very southern part of Illinois. The culture there definitely has a Southern influence.

  29. I absolutely love rock climbing! I haven't gone in awhile because I don't have $$ for the gear or lessons on how to tie all the knots (the only ones I know are figure 8 and fisherman's) and that sort of thing

  30. LBeeeze says:

    My husband climbed before I knew him and he always sets everything up, so I really don't know how to do the knots, but we never do anything technical together or with the kids. He did some more challenging climbs in West Virginia a few years ago. He totally loved it and would love to climb out west too. I am way to freaked out to do the really high stuff even though I know the gear and ropes really do work.
    Several years ago I was repelling down a cliff about 100 ft tall….I was using a device that automatically cinched the rope tight in the event that I accidently "let go," and due to "user error" I got stuck about 75 ft up hanging out in the open because the cliff face slanted way, way in and I could not reach it with my feet.
    Even though I was being belayed (so the device wasn't really necessary) I got very, very upset cause I was just totally stuck. I said about every dirty work in the book…..very, very loud. It was starting to get dark and because of the way the ropes were set up, no one could climb up or down to help me. I was really panicked….so I had to calm my self down and correct my "user error" to start the rope feeding through again. I cannot remember being so panicked as an adult, EVAH !!!!

Leave a Reply

