A Bee Story….

After noticing some fine sawdust on the deck I went out to inspect and found a round hole in the bottom of a rail.  I saw a beetle-looking creature moving around in there, and then it actually stuck its head out and inspected ME !!  I sprayed some bug spray in the hole and forgot about it…until yesterday morning when pieces of shredded rail were all over the deck.  A woodpecker had gone after the critter in the deck rail.  Clearly, something had to be done. 

After doing some research, I surmized that the critter was probably a carpenter bee and that the recommended method of eradication was wasp spray, which I should have bought yesterday afternoon instead of last night because the woodpecker came back early this morning.  Yikes….pieces of wood everywhere !!  I sprayed the railing and went back inside. 

After chasing off the second woodpecker I noticed a good-sized buggie on the deck.  OMGosh….I had no idea they were so big, or so pretty…

I was sorry that I had to spray the wasp spray, but as you can see, carpenter bees, and the woodpeckers who go after them, are very destructive.  Notice Carpenter Bee chewing on the evidence… She defiantly picked this up right in front of me !!

I wanted to get a better shot, so I harassed her a bit, and then she came after me !!  Sorry this shot is a bit blurry, but I was on the move.  WOW…she was MAD….notice the lifted leggie in the front….she was chasing me….Not going back out there for awhile….

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About LBeeeze

Laughing makes life sweeter....especially the stinky hard parts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to A Bee Story….

  1. Waterbaby says:

    Wouldn't blame you a bit if you beelined it to a safe distance. That is one angry-lookin' bee! I'm concerned about the fate of the woodpeckers.

  2. jaypo says:

    Carpenter beeeze *hee hee* are very aggressive. They mos def will chase you down if they feel threatened. I wish there were a way to eradicate them without the poison–if the woodpecker eats one, he'll get the poison too. Your railing must not have been that treated lumber…Those bees are huge. I've seen them around here visiting my flowers. They hover and stare right at you. No manners. Leaving crumbs and staring.

  3. LBeeeze says:

    No kidding !! I know….I hated that they came shortly after I sprayed (I know there were two different woodpeckers because one was bigger) but they didn't stay long cause I chased them off.
    I covered the bee with a jar, so they can't eat it if they come back. I just wanted to wait awhile before taking the jar off.

  4. Waterbaby says:

    another play on words (in initial comment) that flies right past! :*( poor woodpeckers … doing what they do naturally with unintended consequences. i hope they will be ok and that the pesky bees will find their gourmet dining elswhere.

  5. LBeeeze says:

    "Carpenter beeeze" and "Leaving crumbs and staring" Too, too funny…LOL !!!
    The railing is about 20 years old and it was resealed last year, but I read that although carpenter bees don't like painted surfaces, deck sealer doesn't tend to deter them.
    I covered her with a glass jar before I went inside, so the woodpeckers can't get to her. I just want to wait awhile before I remove her…

  6. Waterbaby says:

    p.s. helpful info on treating the bees and their nests here.

  7. LBeeeze says:

    I bet you're referring to"beelined." I really did notice it but in my haste to make it to the gym in time to work out before it closes, I failed to respond with a witty retort, and now in my "beleagurered" state after having spent 60 plus minutes on the elliptical trainer, I cannot think of one cleaver come back….LOL !!!

  8. LBeeeze says:

    Thanks very much for the link…..I'll go check it out. Now I'm kind of freaked out that there are more nests in places I can't see.
    I did a look-around before I came inside after returning from the gym, but didn't see any more obvious spots under the deck.
    I'll go check out your link…thanks again !!

  9. none says:

    Yep a Carpenter Bee…they dont eat the wood, just make it it's home.They are big! I've had several around…though in CA they were all black.What a story!! Thanks for sharing!Glad he didn't get ya!

  10. LBeeeze says:

    I checked out the website….I had no idea these bees were such a problem. I saw another bee hanging around, so I sprayed again and two more huge, all black bees came out. From the website I learned these are actually the females. They were much more aggressive than the yellow and black one in the photos. I was able to cover them with the jar. My husband is going to pry the rail off tomorrow and get rid of it. Hopefully others won't come back, but I learned from the website that I'll have to keep checking. Thanks again for the link….the information was very, very valuable.

  11. LBeeeze says:

    I learned from WB's link that the all black ones are the females, and they are much more aggressive. I didn't try to photograph the two new ones cause they were moving too fast and were very riled up. I got them covered up with the jar and left them alone.
    Thanks for coming by !!

  12. writebrained says:

    sorry about the infestation…. but your pictures are GORGEOUS. love the sequence.

  13. none says:

    OH yeah…glad I took care of one in my back yard in San Diego.It was perfect. I had a bottle of beer, this Carpenter Bee was in the rafter of the shed in the very end. So I watched it go in, then put the bottle right over the hole and poof! The bee went right into the bottle! hah! gatcha!

  14. LBeeeze says:

    You are so kind…Thanks so much !! Tomorrow my husband is going to get rid of the rail where the bees have been nesting….hopefully that will keep them from coming back. Those big black ones are really scary looking !!

  15. LBeeeze says:

    Oh, wow…..at least it died happy….I mean if it liked the particular brand you were drinking. LOL !!

  16. none says:

    hahaha I was not even thinking about that…one of my faves..Corona.Where's that Spider LB?

  17. LBeeeze says:

    No spider….sorry about the confusion…..I was referring to the "Beautiful Bee" pic. I've never gotten such detail before…..I'm kind of excited about it, although it's nothing like the detail in your photographs !!

  18. none says:

    Heehee my fault.But you got great 'in action' shots!! 🙂

  19. LBeeeze says:

    Oh, LOL !!! It's just all the inflated rhetoric above !!
    Actually, when he was coming after me I was backing away on my elbows and knees, snapping away….
    LB….great wildlife photographer…LOL for real !!!

  20. Waterbaby says:

    one cleaver comeback? lol! you're still sharp with the retorts. {ducks and throws protective hands over head}

  21. Waterbaby says:

    glad it was helpful.

  22. none says:

    Yeah thats what I thought…a real action Photographer.!..have to get that shot!

  23. LBeeeze says:

    You are so quick !!! I can only attempt to be clever in my retorts…..but I'm laughing at you ducking and flapping your hands around, although no flying objects will be coming from my way !!! LOL !!!

  24. LBeeeze says:

    Notice when the new bee showed up the only "action" I took was to spray the rail again, and then when the two huge black ones fell out I only covered them with the jar….no action hero stuff from me…..they were a LOT madder and squirmier than the first one !!

  25. none says:

    Time for backup!!

  26. Waterbaby says:

    whew. {moves from ducking for cover to walking upright}

  27. LBeeeze says:

    You know it !!!

  28. LBeeeze says:

    So glad to know that you're no longer walking like a duck and flapping your arms around !! LOL….sorry I couldn't help myself !!

  29. Waterbaby says:

    lol. well i am. behind closed doors.

  30. LBeeeze says:

    I'm hyperactive (for real) and I sometimes do strange things just to burn off excess energy….LOL…usually it's nervous energy….

  31. 000000000000000000000 :0 \-/ <—— that's supposed to be a bee…..Gorgeous pix!We had carpenter bees in the garage a long time ago — tough to deal with….((hugs))

  32. LBeeeze says:

    Thanks so much !! I love you bee !! I think we are on our way to getting them under control….I was so surprised to see how big they are….especially the females.
    Thanks again !!

  33. little miao says:

    Wow, that was very brave of you to take the photos of her. Sorry they've invaded your deck – I wish there were a way to get rid of them without the poison, too. *sigh*

  34. LBeeeze says:

    Waterbaby gave me a great link and I learned a lot more about them….This one actually turned out to be a male and I don't think he was feeling too well after I sprayed. He didn't come after me until I aggitated him a bit so I could get him into a getter position the take some photos….but OMGosh….you should have seen the other ones !! There were two more big black female bees. They were very aggitated from the begining so I just covered them with a jar (so the birds wouldn't eat them) and backed off. I read that the females are much, much more aggressive. I can't believe I didn't get more resistance when I was originally trying to figure out what was up in that hole.
    For sure I wish I wouldn't have had to use the spray….

  35. Beeutiful! (hehehehe) Slightly scary at the same time

  36. LBeeeze says:

    Thank you so much !!! I was scootin' fast when he came after me….I only got close enough to cover them with a jar.

  37. You're welcome. I'm glad you didn't get stung

Leave a Reply

