Prairie Dog Language

Who wouldah thunk??  According to Northern Arizona University biologist Con Slobodchikof, prairie dogs have their own language.  All those yelps, chirps, and eeks actually mean something to other prairie dogs.  Slobodchikof recorded prairie dog-speak in the lab and in the wild and then used computers to analyze the vocalizations.  The analysis has demonstrated that prairie dogs can remember people for approximately two months and can even indicate what color shirt the person is wearing. 

ZOMG !!!  I can’t believe he wore that yellow shirt again !!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About LBeeeze

Laughing makes life sweeter....especially the stinky hard parts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Prairie Dog Language

  1. marina says:

    hahahahahahahahahha, love the caption in red! and what's the language of the biologist? say that name again…???

  2. LBeeeze says:

    Thanks very much !!!
    I was searching something or the other and came across the first article….then I read another and another….I couldn't believe it. It makes sense and all, but my gosh, all the things he was able to determine that they talked to each other about.
    The name looks Eastern European, mabe Slavic or Russian. I think it's pronounced Slo (slow) bod chick off. A bet he's a character !!!

  3. marina says:

    i can't stop laughing every time I try to pronounce that name *drying tears*

  4. LBeeeze says:

    I know what you mean…you could put the emphasis on the wrong syllable and get a little tongue-twisted, maybe reverse a couple letters, and end up saying something rather rude !!! LOL !!!
    I'm glad it tickled your funny bone !!

  5. That's pretty cool! I knew they had their own language, but not more than that!

  6. LBeeeze says:

    The articles were fascinating. He went to great lengths to devise scenarios and situations in order to determine if they were really making the same sounds in response to the same stimulus. Apparently they have "words" for coyote, hawk, antelope, cow, human, human in red shirt, human in blue shirt….LOL….they'll start their own blog before you know it.

  7. Hehehe, or some might already have some πŸ˜‰

  8. LBeeeze says:

    OMG…do you thing they might be the brains behind ICHC….or more appropriately….IHAH ???

  9. Haha, shhhh! We can't give away their secret!

  10. Waterbaby says:

    i coulda sworn i left a comment last night! where'd it go?! perhaps the prairie dogs absconded with it, giggling and laughing and deciding it'd make a tasty snack.

  11. LBeeeze says:

    I'm sure that's exactly what happened….I heard they'll eat anything !!!

  12. Morgat says:

    That's amazing, and fascinating! Thanks! The part about colors is really unbeliegable. Except I belieg it. πŸ™‚

  13. LBeeeze says:

    Apparently they are also very fashion conscious too !! : )

  14. Waterbaby says:

    not *anything.* anything would be seagulls. iron stomachs those scavengers of the sea have.

  15. LBeeeze says:

    I didn't know that !! : )

  16. Waterbaby says:

    really?! or are you pullin' my leg? i thought it was common knowledge. then again, i often assume that the weird and mismatched socks tumbling around in my brain are more common than the populace proves them to be.

  17. LBeeeze says:

    I knew they were scavengers, but I didn't know they would eat anything…I do know that the clothes dryer, or something or the other is always eating socks…which explains all the mismatches !!!

  18. Waterbaby says:

    please. no associating my brain and a dryer. after my last abode, i've had enough of machinery for a good while. thank goodness for the gulls' iron stomachs. otherwise where would all that dead rotting fish washed ashore go?

  19. LBeeeze says:

    Actually, I would have associated your mental state, before the move (BTM) with a washing machine….
    Rather agitated, but very clean… LOL !!! : )

  20. Waterbaby says:

    you haven't been reading my blog very long, have you? LOL

  21. LBeeeze says:

    Yup, you pegged me as a noobie….but I was trying to give you the benefit of the doubt !!!

  22. Waterbaby says:

    well, that's a bad move. πŸ™‚

  23. little miao says:

    Fascinating stuff! I can't even remember people for two months… heehee.Prairie dogs have such cute little paws.

  24. LBeeeze says:

    It is totally fascinating !! I can't help but wonder if other animals have language and we just aren't smart enough to figure it out.
    I wonder what they're all saying about us ??!!

Leave a Reply

